February is recognized as African American History Month across the United States, and Floyd County would like to recognize members of our community who have made an impact.  Citizens such as Professor Edward S. Brown, Henry Chubb, members of the 1963 Student Sit-Ins, Elgin Carmichael, Napoleon Fielder, Judy Sims, Samuel Burrell, and the many others who created a legacy of leadership, courage, and citizenship that helped shape Floyd County into the place it is today.  Last year’s recipients included Paula Jasper, Bishop Norris K. Allen, Sr., Sarah Dahlice Malone, Rev. Terrell Shields, and the Late Battalion Chief Daniel “Danny” Lee.

We invite the community to help us celebrate African American History Month by nominating Floyd County citizens who continue to serve the greater good.  Submissions will be chosen, and those citizens will be recognized by the Floyd County Commission at their 6:00 p.m. meeting on Tuesday, February 22, 2022.  Nominations are now being accepted online by visiting www.floydcountyga.gov/nominate.  Citizens may also print and mail nomination to the Floyd County Manager’s office, 12 East 4th Avenue, Suite 209, Rome, GA 30161.  Deadline to submit is Thursday, February 10, 2022.

For more information, please contact the Floyd County Manager’s office at (706) 291-5111.