Gordon County Schools has named Caroline Stephens from Tolbert Elementary School as its District Teacher of the Year.

For winning the recognition she received an Apple Watch and a free teacher’s conference with all expenses paid.

She will now go on to the Georgia Teacher of the Year competition.

Other finalists included Christy Smith from Fairmount Elementary and Julie Thomas from Sonoraville Elementary School.

Nominees were: Ashworth Middle School, Jessica Westmoreland; Belwood Elementary School, Sidney Shipley; Gordon Central High School, Penny Dobson; Red Bud Elementary School, Heather Duncan; Red Bud Middle School, Gwin Culberson; Sonoraville High School, Hannah Nelson; and W. L. Swain Elementary School, Meagan Rice.