On May 11, 2023, the Floyd County Police Department’s School Resource Officers awarded scholarships to graduating seniors from each of Floyd County’s high schools.  The Resource Officers created the SRO Award last year and through their own time and efforts have raised the necessary funds to grow this award into an annual scholarship. 

Recipients are chosen based on their demonstration of being Selfless, Respectful, and Outstanding Citizenship.

Congratulations to this year’s recipients:

  • Armuchee High School- Isabelle Espy, nominated by Pfc. Mike Bell
  • Coosa High School- Jerenya Pearson, nominated by Pfc. Dale Johnson
  • Model High School- Olivia Miller, nominated by Pfc. Ginger Shelly
  • Pepperell High School- Lily Brumbelow, nominated by Pfc. Jim McCormick

Another highlight of the event was the surprise recognition of Floyd County Schools Chief Safety and Security Officer Rick Flanigen as he was named an Honorary School Resource Officer by the SROs because of his work as a liaison between the school district and the police department. 

“He does so much and a lot of it goes unnoticed since it’s behind the scenes,” said Sgt. Wacker. “He’s always on top of things and always available to help the SROs. He comes to all of our events to show support and volunteers to help us with security after hours. He is a great addition to the school system.” 

This year, Floyd County SROs raised over $10,000 for the scholarship program through the SRO Smokehouse Fundraiser. Sgt. Wacker attributes the overwhelming support to the citizens of Floyd County and the strong community/school partnerships. He looks forward to meeting a larger goal next year and growing the fundraiser to provide support beyond the senior scholarships.

See more photos from the awards luncheon HERE.