Floyd County 911 announced that they have received multiple awards at the annual Georgia Emergency Communications Conference  in Columbus.  Communications Officer Christy Hazelwood (pictured middle) was selected as the 2017 Georgia 911 Dispatcher of the Year.
Lt. Sommer Splendore (left) was selected as the 2017 Georgia 911 Supervisor of the Year.
Director John Blalock was selected as the 2017 Georgia 911 Director of the Year.
The GECC is the state’s 911 conference hosted by the Georgia chapters of the Association of Public Safety Communications Officials (APCO), which is the nation’s largest public safety professional organization, and National Emergency Number Association (NENA). All nominations for the awards are sent to an out-of-state chapter of APCO and NENA for review and selection of the winners.

Floyd County 911 was awarded ‘911 Center of the Year’ at the GECC in 2016, and this is a continuation of that recognition. While all three were extremely proud of this award, they all agreed that they could not have received the recognition without the support of the entire Floyd County 911 team, and the fact that they were nominated by their co-workers is a higher honor than the actual award.