More than 25 different law enforcement agencies , including the Rome City Police Department, were honored today during the 16th Annual Governor’s Challenge awards program hosted by the Governor’s Office of Highway Safety at the Macon Centreplex.

An annual recognition program for law enforcement agencies of all sizes from all over the state, the program features awards in seven different categories based on department size as well as several other specialty categories and a grand prize, the Governor’s Cup, given to the top performing department among all categories.

The winners were as follows:

Category 1: 1-10 Officers
Butler Police Department 1st Place
Ringgold Police Department 2nd Place
Danielsville Police Department 3rd Place
Category 2: 11-25 Officers
Byron Police Department 1st Place
Cornelia Police Department 2nd Place
Washington County Sheriff’s Office 3rd Place
Category 3: 26-50 Officers
Banks County Sheriff’s Office 1st Place
Villa Rica Police Department 2nd Place
Snellville Police Department 3rd Place
Category 4: 51-100 Officers
Peachtree City Police Department 1st Place
Dalton Police Department 2nd Place
Rome Police Department 3rd Place
Category 5: 101-250
Gainesville Police Department 1st Place
Douglas County Sheriff’s Office 2nd Place
Barrow County Sheriff’s Office 3rd Place
Category 6: 251-500
Forsyth County Sheriff’s Office 1st Place
Columbus Police Department 2nd Place
Hall County Sheriff’s Office 3rd Place
Category 7: 501+
Cobb County Police Department 1st Place
Dekalb County Police Department 2nd Place
Campus and University Police
UGA Police Department 1st Place
Georgia College Police Department 2nd Place
Georgia State Patrol Troops
Troop H (Peach, Macon, Houston, Dooly, Pulaski, Crisp, Wilcox, Turner, Ben Hill, Tift, Irwin, Coffee, Cook, Berrien, Atkinson, Lanier, Brooks, Lowndes and Echols counties.) 1st Place- Top Troop Award
Troop I (Effingham, Bryan, Chatham, Liberty, Long, McIntosh, Wayne, Glynn, Bacon, Pierce, Brantley, Camden, Ware, Charlton and Clinch counties.) 2nd Place
Troop F (Twiggs, Wilkinson, Jefferson, Burke, Bleckley, Laurens, Johnson, Emanuel, Jenkins, Screven, Dodge, Treutlen, Candler, Bulloch, Telfair, Wheeler, Montgomery, Toombs, Tattnall, Evans, Jeff Davis and Appling counties.) 3rd Place
Region 1 (Dade, Walker, Catoosa, Whitfield, Murray, Gilmer, Fannin, Chattooga, Gordon, Pickens, Floyd, Bartow, Cherokee, Polk, Haralson, Paulding and Cobb counties.) 1st Place
Region 2  (Union, Towns, Rabun, Dawson, Lumpkin, White, Habersham, Stephens, Forsyth, Hall, Banks, Franklin, Hart, Gwinnett, Barrow, Jackson, Madison, Elbert, Walton, Oconee and Clarke counties.) 2nd Place
Region 3 (Carroll, Douglas, Fulton, Dekalb, Fayette, Clayton, Henry, Rockdale and Newton counties.) 3rd Place
Forsyth County Sheriff’s Office Impaired Driving
Gainesville Police Department Speed Award
Peachtree City Police Department Occupant Protection
Dalton Police Department Distracted Driving
Forsyth County Sheriff’s Office Motorcycle Safety
Fort Gordon Law Enforcement Center Military Police
Banks County Sheriff’s Office Rookie of the Year
Columbus Police Department Bike/Pedestrian Safety
Fitzgerald Police Department Technology Award
Coastal Area Traffic Enforcement Network Traffic Enforcement Network
Peachtree City Police Department (184 Total Points) Governor’s Cup