Bartow County Schools has named Suzanne Morse its new 2015-2016 Teacher of the Year. Morse is a U.S. history and economics teacher at the Bartow County College and Career Academy. She said, ‘This is exciting! I did not think I would win, I’ve only been teaching for seven years.’

The thirty-one year-old teacher said that she didn’t want to be a teacher at first. However, after taking a college class her senior year she was paired with special needs students and her perspective on life changed, Morse added.

Before coming to Bartow County Morse worked five years teaching special education at Rockmart High School.

Morse along with Kathrine Hewlett of Euharlee Elementary and Scott Thomas of Woodland Middle, were the finalist for this year’s award.

Morse now moves on to represent Bartow County in the state competition, which will name the Georgia Teacher of the Year in May 2016.

The remaining elementary school Teachers of the Year for 2015-16 are Mark Wendland of Adairsville, Matthew Bowen of Allatoona, Allison LaRue of Clear Creek, Karen Farr of Cloverleaf, Heather Misztak of Emerson, Mia Gilstrap of Hamilton Crossing, Nicole Desrosier of Kingston, Lisa Bunch of Mission Road, Tonya Chatman of Pine Log, Brandi Stewart of Taylorsville and Jenna Johnson of White.

Middle school Teachers of the Year are Breanna Lee of Adairsville, Simon Moon of Cass and Mary Frankovsky of South Central.

The Teachers of the Year for the high schools are Jonathan Cudd of Adairsville, Jerome Black of Cass and Kristine Norris of Woodland.